Back to top anchor

Blog post

Eureka! Symposium 2019

As a tribute to one of our most distinguished scientists, the late Sir Paul Callaghan, the Eureka! Young Science Leaders programme was established to encourage and recognise excellence in science communication. The 12 finalists come together in Wellington to compete for the Sir Paul Callaghan Eureka! Premier Award. This year's winner was Lila Madden.

The finalists also participate in a Eureka! Symposium, this year held at Government House. Guest speakers were Professor James Renwick (climate change), Dr Jo Horrocks (disaster resilience) and Lisa McLaren (Zero Carbon Act). The topic for the following workshop was Resilience, and science broadcaster Veronika Meduna was rapporteur.

Broadcaster Kim Hill and Dr Peter Buchanan also received Paul Harris Awards for their contributions towards science communication.

Image Gallery

Speech Transcript

Dame Patsy with students attending the Symposium
Dame Patsy and the finalists

Help us improve the Governor-General website

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the Governor-General website.

7 + 2 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.