Back to top anchor

Blog post

Whakamana Hiranga Icon Awards 2020

Actor Sam Neill, author Joy Cowley and artist and educator Dr Sandy Adsetts' long and inspirational careers were acknowledged at Government House this evening, with the presentation of the Arts Foundation's Whakamana Hiranga Icon Awards. Limited to a living circle of 20, the Icon medallion holders include Albert Wendt, Dame Kiri Te Kanawa and Sir Peter Jackson.
Scene stealer of the night was Joy Cowley, who told a story about taking her tiger to the dental nurse, instead of giving a traditional speech.
Performance artist Kalisolaite 'Uhila carried the torch for mid-career arts practitioners when he was announced as the latest Harriet Friedlander Residency recipient. The all-expenses paid residency will see him soaking up the the creative energy of New York - once the borders open of course.

More images

Image of Dame Patsy and Sir David with the recipients of the Whakamana Hiranga Icon Award recipients and the Harriet Friedlander Residency

Help us improve the Governor-General website

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the Governor-General website.

7 + 6 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.