Back to top anchor

Publications archive

Matariki 2016

Speech
Issue date: 
Sat 18 Jun 2016
Speech given by the Governor-General, Sir Jerry Mateparae at a reception to celebrate Matariki at Government House in Wellington

New Zealand Pain Foundation

Speech
Issue date: 
Thu 16 Jun 2016
Delivered at the New Zealand Pain Foundation in Wellington

Judiciary Dinner

Speech
Issue date: 
Thu 16 Jun 2016
Delivered at a dinner in honour of Supreme Court and High Court Judges, at Government House Wellington

Boots the Cat - The Biography

Feature
Issue date: 
Tue 14 Jun 2016

Community Housing Trust

Speech
Issue date: 
Fri 27 May 2016
Delivered in Christchurch on 27 May at the opening of a Community Housing Trust house.

Galatas Memorial

Speech
Issue date: 
Fri 20 May 2016
Delivered on 20 May 2016 at the New Zealand Memorial at Galatas, to mark the 75th anniversary of the Battle of Crete.

New Zealand Reception, Crete

Speech
Issue date: 
Thu 19 May 2016
Delivered on 19 May at a reception attended by New Zealanders, and representatives of Crete, Australia, the United Kingdom and Germany.

Upper Hutt's 50th Anniversary

Speech
Issue date: 
Fri 13 May 2016
Delivered at a reception to mark the opening of an exhibition, Upper Hutt Heroes, to mark the 50th anniversary of Upper Hutt's status as a city.

Opening of the Boys' and Girls' Institute

Speech
Issue date: 
Wed 11 May 2016
Delivered on 11 May at the opening of the new premises of the Boys' and Girls' Institute in Wellington

State Dinner for the President of India

Speech
Issue date: 
Sat 30 Apr 2016
Speech given by the Governor-General, Sir Jerry Mateparae at a State Dinner for the President of India, HE Pranab Mukherjee at Government House in Auckland

Olympic Reception

Speech
Issue date: 
Sat 30 Apr 2016
On 29 April 2016, the Governor-General, Lt Gen The Rt Hon Sir Jerry Mateparae hosted a reception at Government House Auckland for New Zealand athletes and support staff.

National Commemorative Service

Speech
Issue date: 
Mon 25 Apr 2016
Delivered at Pukeahu National War Memorial

Anzac Day Dawn Service

Speech
Issue date: 
Mon 25 Apr 2016
Delivered at Pukeahu National War Memorial Park.

Anzac Dinner

Speech
Issue date: 
Sun 24 Apr 2016
Delivered on the eve at Anzac Day, at a dinner attended by Members of the Diplomatic Corps, Service Chiefs and veterans.

The Governor-General's ANZAC of the Year Award 2016 in association with the RSA

Speech
Issue date: 
Fri 22 Apr 2016
Speech given at the ceremony presenting the The Governor-General's ANZAC of the Year Award 2016 in association with the RSA to Barbara Cunningham of Mataura.

Reserve Bank launch of new banknotes

Speech
Issue date: 
Mon 11 Apr 2016
Delivered on 11 April at a reception to launch the new $20, $50 and $100 note at Government House.

Royal New Zealand Navy Parade

Speech
Issue date: 
Thu 31 Mar 2016
Delivered at the annual RNZN Division Parade in Auckland.

Our Nation's Children Art Competition

Speech
Issue date: 
Wed 30 Mar 2016
Delivered at a reception at Government House Auckland to launch the competition and the Bay of Islands Education Network.

Opening of the Royal Easter Show

Speech
Issue date: 
Wed 23 Mar 2016
The Governor-General, Sir Jerry Mateparae officially opened the Royal Easter Show at the ASB Showgrounds in Auckland

New Zealand Festival Partners

Speech
Issue date: 
Tue 22 Mar 2016
Delivered at a reception at Government House on 22 March for supporters of the New Zealand Festival.

Wellington Homeopaths Case-Taking Workshop

Speech
Issue date: 
Sat 19 Mar 2016
Lady Janine Mateparae hosted a homeopathy case-taking workshop at Government House in Wellington.

Habitat for Humanity

Speech
Issue date: 
Wed 16 Mar 2016
Delivered on 16 March at a fund-raising dinner for Habitat for Humanity at Government House Wellington.

Commonwealth Day Message from Her Majesty the Queen Elizabeth II

Speech
Issue date: 
Mon 14 Mar 2016
Delivered at Wellington Cathedral of St Paul on 14 March 2016.

Wellington Club 175th Anniversary Garden Reception

Speech
Issue date: 
Sun 13 Mar 2016
Speech given at a reception celebrating the 175th anniversary of the founding of The Wellington Club

Excellence in Foster Care Awards

Speech
Issue date: 
Fri 11 Mar 2016
Delivered at a reception at Government House on 11 March 2016 to honour the recipients of Excellence in Foster Care Awards.

Look Good Feel Better Workshop and Luncheon

Speech
Issue date: 
Tue 8 Mar 2016
Speech given by Lady Janine Mateparae at a Look Good Feel Better workshop and luncheon at Government House.

'Chinese ANZACS' Book Launch

Speech
Issue date: 
Mon 7 Mar 2016
Speech given at the launch of the book "Chinese ANZACS" by Alistair Kennedy

Christchurch Earthquake Commemorative Service

Speech
Issue date: 
Mon 22 Feb 2016
Delivered on 22 February 2016 on the fifth anniversary of the severe earthquake that damaged much of Christchurch and killed 185 people.

The Governor-General's Anzac of the Year Award 2016

Feature
Issue date: 
Thu 18 Feb 2016

Waihi Tunnellers Memorial

Speech
Issue date: 
Fri 12 Feb 2016
Delivered on Friday 12 February at Gilmour Park in Waihi at the site of a Memorial to the men of the tunneling unit established for operations on the Western Front in the First World War.

Operation Neptune

Speech
Issue date: 
Mon 8 Feb 2016
Speech given at a reception celebrating the 75th anniversary of the founding of the Royal New Zealand Navy at Government House Auckland.

Consular Corps Reception

Speech
Issue date: 
Sun 7 Feb 2016
Speech given at a reception for the members of the Consular Corps at Government House Auckland

Help us improve the Governor-General website

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the Governor-General website.

2 + 0 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.