Back to top anchor
News and updates

Envoys from Sweden, Sri Lanka, Lithuania, Jordon and Mauritius present credentials

Issue date: 
Thursday, 11 December 2008

The Ambassadors of the Kingdom of Sweden, Republic of Lithuania  and Hashemite Kingdom of Jordon, and High Commissioners for the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka and Republic of Mauritius will present credentials to Governor-General, Hon Anand Satyanand, at Government House in Auckland today (11 December ) at 4pm.

The Royal New Zealand Navy will provide the Maori Ceremonial Challenge and the Guard of Honour.

Mr Sven-Olof Petersson is the Ambassador of the Kingdom of Sweden.  He joined the Foreign Service in 1971 and has had previous postings in Dar es Salaam, Algiers, Strasbourg, Washington and as Ambassador/Permanent Representative to the European Union in Brussels.  He is now Ambassador to Australia. 

Mr Senaka CB Walgampaya is the High Commissioner for the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.   He has a legal and academic background and held the position of Director of Ceylon Petroleum Corporation for a time and later, Director Ceylon Shipping Corporation.  Mr  Walgampaya was recently appointed as High Commissioner to Australia. 

Mr Dainius Petras Kamaitis is the Ambassador of the Republic of Lithuania.  He joined the Foreign Service in 1992 and before becoming Ambassador to Japan in September 2006 was the Head of the Asian and Pacific Division.   He is also the non-resident Ambassador to the Philippines and Australia.

Mr Rajab M. Sukayri is the Ambassador of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordon.  He has had previous postings in Beirut, Kuwait, Ottawa and as Ambassador to China. He is currently Ambassador to Australia.

Mrs Marie France Roussety is the High Commissioner for the Republic of Mauritius.  She was previously a Member of Parliament including time as a Minister in the Mauritius Government.  Mrs Roussetys' was posted as Ambassador to France before being assigned to her current position as High Commissioner to Australia.

Messrs Petersson, Walgampaya and Sukayri and Mrs Roussety are cross accredited from Canberra, and Mr Kamaitis from Tokyo.

For further information please contact: Media adviser, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, (04) 4398777 or (021) 375105

Media wishing to attend the ceremony contact: Antony Paltridge; public affairs officer, Government House on (04) 382 0827 or (021) 470 583.

Last updated: 
Thursday, 11 December 2008

Help us improve the Governor-General website

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the Governor-General website.

2 + 5 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.