Back to top anchor
News and updates

Order of New Zealand Dinner

Issue date: 
Tuesday, 13 October 2009

Members of New Zealand’s highest award, the Order of New Zealand, are to gather at Government House in Auckland for a special dinner this week in their honour.

The dinner, hosted by the Governor-General, Hon Sir Anand Satyanand and Lady Satyanand, will be held on Thursday 15 October 2009.

Media are invited to attend the Reception at 7-7.30pm. Please contact Antony Paltridge, on 021 470 583, by 9am on 15 October to confirm attendance.

The last dinner for Members of the Order was held on 20 June 2007. Since that dinner, Rt Hon Sir Donald McKinnon and Sir Murray Halberg have been appointed as new Members of the Order.

Members that have died since the last dinner include Sir Edmund Hillary who was the last of the original Members appointed on the institution of the Order on 6 February 1987. Sir James Fletcher, Sir Roy McKenzie and Dr Ivan Lichter have also died since the last dinner.

This is the first dinner for Members of the Order to be held at Government House, Auckland. Attendees include athlete Sir Murray Halberg, ex-All Black Sir Brian Lochore and former Prime Minister and NZ Post Chairman, Rt Hon Jim Bolger.

For more general information on the Order of New Zealand, click here.

Last updated: 
Tuesday, 13 October 2009

Help us improve the Governor-General website

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the Governor-General website.

5 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.